Equatorial Guinea – Akwadu

IMG_20190626_162501 (1)Akwadu is a popular dessert, made with banana and coconut, staple to Equatorial Guinea’s kitchen.

This banana dish is simply delicious, warm and sweet and would be perfect for breakfast as well.

I found little variations of the recipe during my research : you can use half lemon half orange juice, if you want to add a bit of tanginess to the dessert. You can also choose to cook the shredded coconut in the oven along with the banana. I skipped that step, because I like the crisp of shredded coconut, but I chose to use coconut sugar instead of brown or palm sugar, to add a bit of coconut flavour to the banana itself, and because coconut sugar is not as sweet. And for breakfast, I would opt for plantains instead of banana, as they are more filling! I hope you have a good cooking time and let me know which variation you prefer!

Serves : 4 – Prep time : 5 minutes – Total time: 25 minutes – Toddler’s rating: 👍👍

Ingredients

4 bananas
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 orange, juiced
1/4 cup (50g) coconut sugar (or palm sugar)
2 tsp cinnamon
shredded coconut to taste


Preheat the oven to 400°F (200°C).

Cut the bananas in half lengthwise and keep them with their skin. Score their flesh and put them in a baking sheet.
Pour the butter on top of the bananas, then the orange juice. Sprinkle with the coconut sugar and the cinnamon.
Cook the bananas for 20 minutes, until well cooked. Top with shredded coconut.

Leave a comment